In Which I Say Stupid Things and Am Shown My Error

Friday, I was fussing to FMP about our finances and how we should be in a better position considering our age. I complained that we had done everything right and were not being treated fairly by God. I threw some things and made other loud and angry remarks. Finally, I slammed out of the house to go to work. On the way there, I gave God several more pieces of my mind.

Saturday, I went to purchase the materials to make my parents’ 50th wedding anniversary present. I would tell you what it is, but they read this blog, too. Since this is a special project, I went to a store that sells only cross-stitch supplies.

As I walked in, the owner asked what I was looking to make and I told her about the anniversary. She said that she had been married 30 years herself and would, if asked again, say “no!”. I looked at her face. It was set in lines of bitterness and disappointment. She couldn’t have been more than five years older than I, but she carried herself as if she were much older. It was then that God whispered to me, “Better is a dinner of herbs where love is, than a stalled ox and hatred therewith” (Proverbs 15:17 KJV). This woman obviously had enough money to own the store and stock it with beautiful things, but she did not feel belovéd.

We do not have much materially, but I am greatly loved. Our home is filled with peace and our marriage is happy. I am sure that the lady in the shop would have been glad to trade every piece of her stock to have one day of the life I was fussing about. Sometimes I say the stupidest things.

By the way, if I were asked again, I would insist that we waste no time and go immediately to the closest church.

Leave a Reply

