Abide with Me

Traditionally, this song was sung at the funerals of military and veterans. Therefore, I dedicate it to all who have risked, and are risking, their lives to preserve our freedoms and way of life. May you feel the hand of God and may He return you to us in safety. To the families of those who have paid the ultimate price, your sacrifice will never be forgotten.

Verse 1:
Abide with me!
Fast falls the eventide,
The darkness deepens–
Lord, with me abide!
When other helpers fail,
and comforts flee,
Help of the helpless,
oh, abide with me!

Verse 2:
Swift to its close ebbs out
life’s little day;
Earth’s joys grow dim,
its glories pass away;
Change and decay in
all around I see;
Oh, Thou who changest not,
abide with me!

Verse 3:
I need Thy presence
ev’ry passing hour,
What but Thy grace can
foil the tempter’s pow’r?
Who, like Thyself,
My guide and stay can be?
Thro’ cloud and sunshine,
oh, abide with me!

Verse 4:
Hold Thou Thy cross
before my closing eyes;
Shine thro’ the gloom,
and point me to the skies;
Heav’n’s morning breaks
and earth’s vain shadows flee!
In life, in death, O Lord,
abide with me!

H.F. Lyte/Wm.H. Monk

2 thoughts on “Abide with Me

Leave a Reply

