Calvary

Verse 1:
On Calv’ry’s brow my Saviour died,
‘Twas there my Lord was crucified:
‘Twas on the cross he bled for me,
And purchased there my pardon free.

Refrain:
O Calvary! dark Calvary!
Where Jesus shed His blood for me, for me;
O Calvary! blest Calvary!
‘Twas there my Saviour died for me.

Verse 2:
‘Mid rending rocks and dark’ning skies,
My Saviour bows His head and dies;
The opening vail reveals the way
To heaven’s joys and endless days.

Verse 3:
O Jesus, Lord, how can it be,
That Thou shouldst give Thy life for me,
To bear the cross and agony,
In that dread hour on Calvary?

W. M’K. Darwood/Jno. R. Sweney

Leave a Reply

