It is Well with My Soul

Verse 1:
When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll:
Whatever my lot, Thous hast taught me to say,
It is well. It is well with my soul.

Refrain:
It is well (It is well) with my soul. (with my soul)
It is well, it is well with my soul.

Verse 2:
Though Satan should buffet, tho’ trials shall come,
Let this blest assurance control.
That Christ hath regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

Verse 3:
My sin–oh, the bliss of the glorious thought-
My sin–not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to His cross and I bear it no more.
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, oh, my soul.

Verse 4:
And, Lord, haste the day when the faith shall be sight,
The clouds be roll’d back as a scroll.
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
“Even so”–it is well with my soul.

H.G. Spafford/P.P. Bliss

2 thoughts on “It is Well with My Soul

Leave a Reply

