Nearer, my God, to Thee

Verse 1:
Nearer, my God, to Thee,
Nearer to Thee;
E’en though it be a cross
That raiseth me.
Still all my song shall be–
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer to Thee!

Verse 2:
Tho’, like a wanderer,
The sun goes down,
Darkness be over me,
My rest a stone.
Yet in my dreams I’d be
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer to Thee!

Verse 3:
There let the way appear
Steps unto heaven;
All that Thou sendest me,
In mercy given:
Angels to beckon me
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer to Thee!

Verse 4:
Then with my waking tho’ts,
Bright with Thy praise,
Out of my stony griefs,
Bethel I’ll raise;
So by my woes to be
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer to Thee!

Verse 5:
Or if, on joyful wing,
Cleaving the sky,
Sun, moon, and stars forgot,
Upward I fly,
Still all my song shall be
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer to Thee!

Sarah F. Adams/Lowell Mason

Leave a Reply

