The Eye of faith

Verse 1:
I do not ask for earthly store
Beyond a day’s supply;
I only covet, more and more,
The clear and single eye,
To see my duty face to face,
And trust the Lord for daily grace.

Refrain:
Then shall my heart keep singing
While to the cross I cling;
For rest is sweet at Jesus’ feet,
While home-ward faith keeps winging.

Verse 2:
I care not for the empty show
That thoughtless worldlings see;
I crave to do the best I know,
And leave the rest with Thee;–
Well satisfied that sweet reward
Is sure to those who trust the Lord.

Verse 3:
Whate’er the crosses mine shall be,
I will not dare to shun;
I only ask to live for Thee,
And that Thy will be done;
Thy will, O Lord, be mine each day,
While pressing on my homeward way.

Verse 4:
And when at last, my labor o’er,
I cross the narrow sea,
Grant, Lord, that on the other shore
My soul may dwell with Thee;
And learn what here I cannot know,
Why Thou hast ever loved me so.

Rev.J.J. Maxfield/W.A. Ogden

Leave a Reply

