Blessed Saviour, Ever Nearer

Verse 1:
Blessed Saviour, ever nearer
I am drawing to Thy feet;
Thou hast borne my every sorrow,
I am made in Thee complete;
For Thy love my soul is yearning,
More and more its pow’r impart;
I have heard Thy tender pleading,
Come and dwell within my heart.

Verse 2:
Blessed Saviour, I would never,
Never more Thy love reject;
At Thy feet I learn the lesson
How Thine image to reflect;
There I go when all forsake me,
When by foes I am oppressed;
Then I hear Thy loved voice saying,
Come to me, I’ll give you rest.

Verse 3:
Blessed Saviour, draw me nearer,
Ever nearer to Thy heart,
When I’m weary, heavy laden,
And I feel the tempter’s dart;
Oft I stumble, oft I falter,
Oft I’m toss’d on angry seas;
But I know that Thou wilt guide me,
Thro’ the storm, to endless peace.

Verse 4:
Blessed Saviour, let me linger
Ever near Thy precious feet,
Till I hear that welcome summons,
Come, thy loved one now to greet;
Oh, the joy that there awaits me,
While I hope and watch and pray!
For the morning light is dawning,
Of the fair and endless day.

Furnished by Merton Smith/Arr. by El.Nathan/James McGranahan

Leave a Reply

