The Saviour’s Face

Verse 1:
How sweet, O Lord, Thy Word of grace
Which bids a sinner seek Thy face,
And never seek in vain,
And never seek in vain;
That face, once set so steadfastly
To meet Thy cross of agony,
Can never me disdain,
Can never me disdain.

Verse 2:
Thy visage, marred and crowned with thorn,
Thou didst not hide from grief and scorn,
Nor from the dews of night,
Nor from the dews of night;
Yet, in that face a love appears
Which scatters all my gloomy fears,
And fills my soul with light,
And fills my soul with light.

Verse 3:
The heavens declare Thy power and love;
In all Thy works, below, above,
Thy majesty I trace
Thy majesty I trace,
But mercy shines not in the skies,
And hope within my spirit dies,
Until I see Thy face,
Until I see Thy face.

Verse 4:
The brightness of Thy glory, Lord,
Fills heaven and earth and written word
With beams of heavenly grace,
With beams of heavenly grace;
But all the hosts of Heaven shine
With no such radiance divine
As Thy most blessed face,
As Thy most blessed face.

Words arr./Geo.F. Root

Leave a Reply

