The Beautiful Land on High

At this time, “goodbye” was in the process of going from two words to a single word.

Verse 1:
There’s a beautiful land on high,
To its glories I fain would fly,
When by sorrows press’d down, I long for the crown
In that beautiful land on high.

Refrain:
In that beautiful land I’ll be,
From earth and its cares set free;
My Jesus is there, He’s gone to prepare
A place in that land for me.

Verse 2:
There’s a beautiful land on high,
I shall enter it by and by;
There with friends hand in hand, I shall walk on the strand,
In that beautiful land on high.

Verse 3:
There’s a beautiful land on high,
Then why should I fear to die,
When death is the way to the realms of day,
In that beautiful land on high.

Verse 4:
There’s a beautiful land on high,
And my kindred its bliss enjoy;
And methinks I now see them waiting for me,
In that beautiful land on high.

Verse 5:
There’s a beautiful land on high,
Where we never shall say “good-bye;”
Where the righteous will sing, and their chorus will ring
In that beautiful land on high.

James Nicholson/Wm. U. Butcher

Leave a Reply

