I am Coming to the Cross

Verse 1:
I am coming to the cross;
I am poor, and weak, and blind;
I am counting all but dross,
I shall full salvation find.

Verse 2:
Long my heart has sighed for Thee,
Long has evil reigned within;
Jesus sweetly speaks to me,–
“I will cleanse you from all sin.”

Verse 3:
Here I give my all to Thee,
Friends, and time, and earthly store;
Soul and body Thine to be,–
Wholly Thine for evermore.

Verse 4:
In Thy promises I trust,
Now I feel the blood applied:
I am prostrate in the dust,
I with Christ am crucified.

Verse 5:
Jesus comes! He fills my soul!
Perfected in Him I am;
I am every whit made whole:
Glory, glory to the Lamb.

Rev. Wm. McDonald/Wm. G. Fischer

Leave a Reply

