Welcome, Wanderer, Welcome

Verse 1:
In the land of strangers,
Whither thou art gone,
Hear a far voice calling,
“My son! my son!”

Refrain:
“Welcome, wand’rer, welcome,
Welcome back to home!
Thou hast wandered far away;
Come home! come home!

Verse 2:
“From the land of hunger,
Fainting, famished, lone,
Come to love and gladness,
My son! my son!”

Verse 3:
“Leave the haunts of riot,
Wasted, woe-be-gone,
Sick at heart and weary,
My son! my son!”

Verse 4:
“See the door still open,
Thou art still my own;
Eyes of love are on thee,
My son! my son!”

Verse 5:
“Far off thou hast wandered;
Wilt thou farther roam?
Come, and all is pardoned,
My son! my son!”

Verse 6:
“See the well-spread table
Unforgotten one!
Here is rest and plenty,
My son! my son!”

Verse 7:
“Thou art friendless, homeless,
Hopeless, and undone;
Mine is love unchanging,
My son! my son!”

Horatius Bonar, D.D./Ira D. Sankey

Leave a Reply

