Nearer to Thee

Verse 1:
“Nearer, my God, to Thee,”
Hear Thou my prayer;
E’en tho’ a heavy cross
Fainting I bear;
Still all my prayer shall be
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer, my God, to Thee,
Nearer to Thee.

Verse 2:
If, where they led my Lord,
I, too, am borne,
Planting my steps in His,
Weary and worn;
There, even let me be
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer, my God, to Thee,
Nearer to Thee.

Verse 3:
And when Thou, Lord, once more,
Glorious shall come,
Oh, for a dwelling-place in
Thy bright home!
Thro’ all eternity,
Nearer, my God, to Thee!
Nearer, my God, to Thee,
Nearer to Thee.

William W. How, alt./J.H. Tenney

Leave a Reply

