Annie Laurie

“Maxwelton” is the former burgh of Maxwellton in Kirkcudbrightshire, southwest Scotland. It merged with Dumfries in 1924.

Verse 1:
Maxwelton’s braes are bonnie,
Where early fa’s the dew;
And it’s there that Annie Laurie
Gied me her promise true,
Gied me her promise true,
Which ne’er forgot will be,–
And for bonnie Annie Laurie
I’d lay me down and dee.

Verse 2:
Her brow is like the snowdrift,
Her throat is like the swan,
Her face it is the fairest
That e’er the sun shone on,
That e’er the sun shone on,
And dark blue is her e’e,–
And for bonnie Annie Laurie
I’d lay me down and dee.

Verse 3:
Like the dew on gowan lying,
Is the fa’ o’her fairy feet,
And like winds in summer sighing
Her voice is low and sweet,
Her voice is low and sweet,
And she’s a’ the world to me,–
And for bonnie Annie Laurie
I’d lay me down and dee.

Mr. Douglas/Alice A. Spottiswoode

Leave a Reply

