No. 30 The Lord Looks on the Heart

Oh, the things you discover when reading antique books! The word “Dives'” in Verse 3 is a reference to the rich man in the parable in Luke 16:19–31. Since his name is not in the Bible, I suppose this is the one traditionally given him.

Verse 1:
Tho’ my home may humble be,
Christ the Lord will sup with me;
Poor and meager be the fare,
It may prove a banquet rare;
Man sees but the outward part,
But the Lord looks on the heart.

Verse 2:
Tho’ my dress be worn and thin,
Joyful may I welcome Him,
Giving all and of my best,
For He is the royal Guest,
He will of His grace impart,
For the Lord looks on the heart.

Verse 3:
Tho’ a mite be all my store,
Dives’ gold cannot be more,
Ere I spoke my needs He knew;
“For His sake” the good I do;
Man may cause me keenest smart,
But the Lord looks on the heart.

Verse 4:
Let my gift be sweet with love;
Royal gift ’twill be above.
Mercy show, since mercy’s giv’n,
Else how can I hope for heav’n?
Tho’ I hold the highest part,
Still the Lord looks on the heart.

Verse 5:
Abba, Father, I may pray,
Give Thy bounty day by day;
Keep me ever in the right,
Give me vict’ry in the fight,
Since with wrong I have no part,
For the Lord looks on the heart.

M.S. Sibley/(Old Tune “Rosefield”)/C.H.A. Malan

Leave a Reply

