No. 40 Jesus, I My Cross Have Taken

Verse 1:
Jesus, I my cross have taken,
All to leave and follow Thee;
Naked, poor, despised, forsaken,
Thou, from hence, my all shalt be;
Perish ev’ry fond ambition,
All I’ve sought and hoped and known;
Yet how rich is my condition,
God and heav’n are still my own!

Verse 2:
Let the world despise and leave me,
They have left my Savior, too;
Human hearts and looks deceive me;
Thou art not, like man, untrue;
And while Thou shalt smile upon me,
God of wisdom, love and might,
Foes may hate, and friends may shun me,
Show Thy face and all is bright.

Verse 3:
Go, then, earthly fame and treasure!
Come, disaster, scorn and pain!
In Thy service, pain is pleasure;
With Thy favor, loss is gain.
I have called Thee, “Abba, Father;”
I have stayed my heart on Thee;
Storms may howl, and clouds may gather,
All must work for good to me.

Verse 4:
Haste thee on from grace to glory,
Armed by faith and wing’d by pray’r;
Heav’n’s eternal day’s before thee,
God’s own hand shall guide thee there.
Soon shall close thy earthly mission,
Swift shall pass thy pilgrim days;
Hope shall change to glad fruition,
Faith to sight, and prayer to praise.

Henry F. Lyte/Mozart

Leave a Reply

