No. 80 If I Were a Sunbeam

Verse 1:
If I were a sunbeam,
I know what I would do;
I’d seek the whitest lily
The rainy woodland through;
Stealing in among them,
The softest light I’d shed,
Until the graceful lily
Raised its drooping head.

Verse 2:
If I were a sunbeam,
I know what I where I would go;
Into the lowliest hovels,
All dark with want and woe;
Till sad hearts looked upward,
I then would shine and shine!
Then they would think of heaven,
Their sweet home and mine.

Verse 3:
Art thou not a sunbeam,
O child whose heart is glad,
With still an inner radiance
That sunshine never had.
As the Lord hath blessed thee,
Oh, scatter rays divine,
For there can be no sunbeam,
But must die or shine.

Lucy Larcom/T.M.Towne

Leave a Reply

