No. 93 As Flows the River

Verse 1:
As flows the river, calm and deep,
In silence tow’rd the sea,
So floweth ever, and ceaseth never,
The love of God for me.

Refrain:
As flows the river, calm and deep,
In silence tow’rd the sea,
So floweth ever, and ceaseth never,
The love of God for me (to me).

Verse 2:
He kindly keepeth those He loves,
Secure from ev’ry fear,
From the eye that weepeth for one that sleepeth,
He gently dries the tear.

Verse 3:
What peace He bringeth to my heart,
Deep as the soundless sea!
How sweetly singeth the soul that clingeth,
My loving Lord, to Thee.

Verse 4:
How calm at even sinks the sun
Beyond the clouded west;
So, tempest-driven into the haven,
I reach the longed-for rest.

Rev. E. Corwin/Wm.S. Pitts

Leave a Reply

