No. 144 Sweet Heavenland

Verse 1:
O glorious land–by faith I see–
Heavenland, sweet heavenland,
Around thee rolls the crystal sea,
Heavenland, sweet heavenland;
No scorching winds nor searching cold,
No cares nor sorrows manifold;
A happy place where none grows old,
Heavenland, sweet heavenland.

Verse 2:
In thee is found no broken heart,
Heavenland, sweet heavenland,
And friend from friend shall never part,
Heavenland, sweet heavenland;
But with the hosts in bright array,
Will dwell in peace thro’ endless day,
And none from thee will ever stray,
Heavenland, sweet heavenland.

Verse 3:
In thee no sin my soul can sway,
Heavenland, sweet heavenland,
My tears will all be wiped away,
Heavenland, sweet heavenland;
Although my days have evil been,
Yet if redeemed from all my sin,
My God will grant me entrance in
Heavenland, sweet heavenland.

Verse 4:
O land of purest love and bliss,
Heavenland, sweet heavenland,
O blessed place where Jesus is,
Heavenland, sweet heavenland;
When I awake beyond the tide,
In His sweet likeness glorified,
I know I shal be satisfied,
Heavenland, sweet heavenland.

Mattie Pearson Smith

Leave a Reply

