No. 157 Happy in Jesus

(Sing to Tune on Opposite Page)–by which they mean “The Kindest Rule”.

Verse 1:
I am happy, oh, so happy,
Precious Savior, in Thy love;
I could sing from morn to even,
Like the blessed ones above.
I could tell of Thy sweet mercy
Through the bright, bright, sunny day,
And in joy and adoration
Pass the blissful hours away.

Refrain:
I am happy, oh, so happy,
I am happy, oh, so happy,
I am happy, yes, I’m happy,
Precious Savior, in Thy love.

Verse 2:
I am happy, oh, so happy,
For I know that Thou art mine,
And Thy Spirit witness whispers
That I am a child of Thine;
And an heir to life and glory
In the deathless summer land,
Where with saints and shining angels
In my white robes I shall stand.

Verse 3:
I am happy, oh, so happy,
And my heart is light and free
As the bonnie birds above me,
Warbling joyous melody;
I will sing of Thee, my Savior,
Bless Thee with my feeble breath,
Till my eyes are closed to life-light,
and my earth-songs hushed in death.

A.T. Goram

Leave a Reply

